Cities of South Korea

Cities of South Korea
Print This Article

South Korea covers an area of 38,691 square miles and has a population of 50.22 million. There are six metropolitan cities in Korea: Seoul, Incheon, Daegu, Daejeon, Gwangju, and Ulsan; nine provinces: Gyeongsangbuk-do, Gyeongsangnam-do, Gyeonggi Province, North Chungcheong Province, South Chungcheong Province, North Jeolla Province, South Jeolla Province, Gangwon-do and Jeju Island; and several medium-sized cities and small villages and towns.


Seoul is an international metropolis with a population of 10,000,000, and it covers an area of 234 square miles. Having many resources, Seoul is the political, economic, social and educational center of Korea. The 24th Olympic Games in 1988 and the 17th World Cup in 2002 were held here.


Busan is the second largest city in Korea with an area of 296 square miles and a population of 3.4 million souls. It is the largest port city in Korea and the 4th largest port city in the whole world, while growing more and more. Busan held the 14th Asian Games in 2002 and has held the Busan Film Festival for 10 times in the history.


Daegu is the third largest city in Korea, with an area of 341 square miles and a population of 3.5 million. This city alone has more than 40 universities and colleges. Currently, Daegu is trying its best to become a world-renown textile and garment city.


Inchon belongs to the capital circle, and it is the second largest port city in Korea. The Incheon International Airport and Port of Inchon are both major Korean transportation junctions. To take full advantage of the two transportation junctions, Inchon has devoted itself to building an international financial city and an information industry city.


Jeju island (Chejudo) was known as a place of fantasy or mystery in centuries past, and is the largest island in Korea. It located on the southwest sea of the Korean peninsula and is shaped like an oval. Its populatioin is around 600,000 and rising. In the center of this island, there is the Halla mountain which was once an active volcano. About 360 smaller cones around the island create a peculiar topographical view in combination with Halla mountain. It has a strong influence from oceanic climate in summer and continental climate in winter. The annual average temperature is about 16°C (60°F).