History of Jeju Province

History of Jeju Province
Print This Article

The Jeju Province is a piece of land filled with immense beauty and rare sites. It is one of the nine provinces of South Korea, and its capital is Jeju City. It is also known as Quelpart by the Europeans. It was recognized as a separate independent province in 1962 by the South Korean Government. Its climate usually stays temperate with very minor winter temperature decreases, and is known for sites such as the Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes.

Jeju province owns a very rich history beginning in 1105, when it was declared to be named Tamna-gun under the King’s orders. Later, when the ruling period of Gojong of Goryeo, started the name was once again changed to Jeju province, which means province across the sea. This province had been used many times under several purposes during the Joseon Dynasty, and for things as different as a prison and breeding ground for horses.

Over the course of its history, there was a time in the year 1910 when Japan took over the lands. It was the time when the fisheries and women led a great protest in the history of South Korea against North Korea. Its worst time in history was when there were strong anti-communists uprisings; these were covertly supported by the UN, but it is said that UN was involved in matters of the inside, almost triggering a war.  Another group, known as the communist’s sympathizers, was crushed by the North Koreans. This led to deaths, rape cases, abductions, and kidnappings, and the government worked hard in restoring peace and order.

Jeju owns a significant place in the history of South Korea, and is set apart with its beauty and uniqueness.